Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The nine members of Carroll EMC’s board of directors are volunteers who are elected by the membership to shape policies that serve the best interest of the cooperative and its Member-owners. Each board member is a Carroll EMC Member-owner and represents a specific district within Carroll EMC’s service territory.

Board elections are held during the annual meeting. The cooperative’s bylaws contain exact details about director qualifications and the nomination/election process.

Alvin Ginn (Secretary/Treasurer)
District 1
Troup County and portions of Heard County

Emmett Harrod
District 2
Heard County

Lynn Joyner
District 3
Southwest Carroll County

Donnie Brannon
District 4
Southeast Carroll County

Eddie Gore
District 5
Northwest Carroll County

Ronnie Jordan (Vice-Chairman)
District 6
Northeast Carroll County

Max Goldin
District 7
Haralson County

Nan Philpot
District 8
Polk County and portions of Haralson County

Don DeFoor (Chairman)
District 9
Paulding County







SECTION 3.06.  Nominations. 

(a)        The Board of Directors shall appoint, not less than one hundred thirty (130) days before the date of the meeting at which members of the Board of Directors are to be elected, a committee on nominations, consisting of not less than two (2) Members residing in the Districts in which Directors’ terms expire in that year (the “Nominating Committee”).  No Member nor Close Relative nor member of the same household of a Director may serve on such committee.  The committee shall meet and nominate not less than one (1) nor more than two (2) qualified Member(s) residing in the District where a vacancy will occur by term expiration.  The committee shall prepare and post at the principal office of the Cooperative at least one hundred twenty (120) days before the meeting its list of nominees.

(b)        In addition, any one hundred (100) or more Members of the Cooperative acting together may make additional nominations in writing not less than seventy-five (75) days prior to the meeting (the “Nominating Petition”), and the Secretary shall post such nominations at the same place where the list of nominations made by the Committee is posted.  The Nominating Petition shall (1) list on each page of the Nominating Petition the name of the Member; (2)      indicate on each page of the Nominating Petition the director position for which the Member so nominated will run; and (3) contain the printed names, addresses, telephone numbers and original dated signatures signed within sixty (60) days of the first signature.

          In compliance with the Bylaws of the Corporation, as amended, the duly appointed Nominating Committee for Board Districts 4, 5 & 8, met at the Headquarters Building at 155 N. Highway 113, Carrollton, Georgia, at 6:30 p.m., Tuesday, May 7, 2019 for the purpose of making nominations for the office of Director to fill the above specified terms which expire in 2019.

            Following consideration of the qualifications required for a member to be eligible for the office of director, the Nominating Committee from each of said Board Districts did nominate the following members of the Corporation as nominees for Director from their respective Districts:

            Board District 4:         Donnie Brannon

            Board District 5:         Eddie Gore

            Board District 8:         Nan Philpot